Class of 2018

HALL OF HONOR – Class of 2018:

Six individuals and one team will be the newest inductees into the McKinney ISD Athletics Hall of Honor. The Hall of Honor Committee selected Bobby Joe Evans and David Douglas as Modern Era inductees and Mike Sessom and Jeff Lackie as Senior Class inductees. The Class of 2018 also includes the 1966 McKinney High School football team, Leonard Evans (coach), and Scott Johnson (contributor).
The group will be the fourth class enshrined in the Hall of Honor since its inception in 2014.
Evans was a two-time all-state basketball player for McKinney High and was named the 1995 Texas Gatorade High School Player of the Year as a senior. The 6-9 post finished as third-leading rebounder in Texas high school history with 2,057 and a three-time district player of the year. He finished as the school’s leading scorer and rebounder. He played two seasons at Oklahoma before injuries ended his career.
Douglas was a multi-sport star at McKinney North, where he was an integral part of the first Bulldogs football team to qualify for the playoffs in 2006 and a regional tournament semifinalist basketball team in 2007. As a junior, Douglas set the school’s single-season record with 1,285 yards and 13 TDs receiving. He played receiver at the University of Arizona and parts of two seasons in the NFL.
Sessom played linebacker on McKinney’s 1979 state championship football team and first baseman on the baseball team. He coached at South Garland High School. Sessom has been scoreboard operator for McKinney North basketball and baseball games for more than a decade.
Lackie was one of the most highly prized pitchers in the history of McKinney High School. The all-state left-hander led the Lions to the 1981 Class 4A state semifinals and was drafted in the third round by the Baltimore Orioles.
The 1966 McKinney state finalist team was the first Lions team to advance to the championship game. The team featured a suffocating defense that recorded 10 shutouts and surrendered only 16 points in its first 13 games. That MHS team was coached by Hall of Honor Class of 2016 inductee Tommy Hudspeth and led by all-state running back and Class of 2015 inductee Mike James.
The Class of 2018 inductee as a coach, Leonard Evans taught math and coached at Doty High School before becoming the first African-American coach to integrate into MISD. He later served as an administrator and the first African-American member of the MISD Board of Education.
With 35 years of service to MISD, Scott Johnson is being inducted as a Contributor in the Class of 2018. Johnson began his teaching and coaching career in McKinney in 1953. He eventually became athletic director before being named superintendent in 1980. Johnson passed in May 2016.