Class of 2022

MISD Athletics Announces 2022 Hall of Honor Class

3 June 2021



McKINNEY, Texas—Seven individuals and one team will become the newest members of the MISD Athletic Hall of Honor.

The 2022 Class includes Kevin James and Amy Justice (Senior Era), Aaliyah Miller, Bryan Driskell, and Jena Joplin Weinstock (Modern Era), Mike Justice (Legends), Jimmie Lankford (Coach), and McKinney North’s 2016 track and field team, becoming the eighth group to be added since the inception of the Hall of Honor.

The newest members will be officially inducted in January 2022.

Kevin James, a 1993 McKinney High School graduate, is the all-time leading scorer in Lions’ basketball history. At the end of a decorated high school career, he was nominated for the McDonald’s All-American team before a collegiate playing career. The point guard led UNLV in assists as a junior in the 1995-96 season.

Amy Justice, a McKinney High School graduate,  was a part of four consecutive undefeated district champions in girls’ basketball for McKinney High School, including a state tournament berth in 1989. Also a three-year letter winner in track and a letter winner in tennis and cross country, she was the district newcomer of the year, sophomore of the year, and was selected TABC all-region as a junior.

Aaliyah Miller, a 2016 McKinney Boyd graduate, won five individual state titles for the Lady Broncos’ track and field team. She continued her stellar track career at Baylor, earning indoor and outdoor All-American honors in the 4×400-meter relay, as well as outdoor and indoor Big 12 championships in the 800 meters, setting the school record in the indoor event. Miller represented Team USA in the 800 meters at the IAAF World Under-20 Championships in the summer of 2016.

Bryan Driskell, a 2013 McKinney Boyd graduate, finished his career as McKinney ISD’s all-time career rushing leader and single-game scoring leader in football. He led the Broncos to a district championship in 2010 and three consecutive playoff appearances. Driskell played collegiately at the Air Force Academy and is currently training as a pilot for the U.S. Air Force.

Jena Joplin Weinstrock, a McKinney High School graduate, became the first MISD swim and dive athlete to win a state championship when she captured gold in one-meter diving in 1996. She won the district and regional diving championship all four years at McKinney High School, advancing to the state meet each year of her high school career. She continued her diving career at LSU, where she advanced to the NCAA championships as a freshman and was named All-American.

Mike Justice, a McKinney High School graduate, is considered perhaps the greatest all-around athlete in McKinney High School history. In the early 1960s, he was a standout in football (leading rusher), basketball (leading scorer), baseball (leading hitter), and track (fastest 100-yard time) and was recruited for three of those sports by TCU. Justice eventually settled on baseball for the Horned Frogs.

Jimmie Lankford, currently the head girls’ soccer coach at Frisco Wakeland, led McKinney North to the school’s first state team championship in 2006 when the Lady Bulldogs captured the 4A girls soccer title. He then served as head coach for the McKinney Boyd girls’ soccer teams that won state titles in 2008 and 2011.

The McKinney North girls’ track team, under the direction of coach Jessica Richards, captured the Class 5A state team championship after winning the team titles at the Region II meet and the District 10-5A meet. The Lady Bulldogs won gold in two relays and one individual event, finished runner-up in two more events, and scored in a sixth event.

Induction into the Athletic Hall of Honor is the highest honor awarded in McKinney ISD Athletics. The Hall of Honor was established in 2013 to recognize former student-athletes, coaches, teams, and community contributors who have made a significant contribution to McKinney ISD Athletics.